Available under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Note: We will soon deprecate our XML Application Programming Interface and a new, comprehensive JSON API will be made available. Keep an eye on our website for further details.
On this page
"The hill of the Skulls."Mr George Alexander Hamilton. Hampton Hall Balbriggan, has given the following notice of this very interesting spot as a result of his observation and inspection in 1840. Having obtained Lord Gormonston's permission to explore the mound on his estate at Knockingin, he had it opened and found it composed of small round stones with shingle from the sea-shore. The excavation were soon interrupted by a circle of huge stones which appears to have been placed around, but at some distance from the centre of the mound, and quite covered with or buried in shingles. Within this outer circle he found a rude platform of apparently beaten clay, but upon this an immense heap of buried human bones. As far as could be surmised, the bones were those of human beings of every age. In the centre of this circle was discovered a chamber constructed of huge flags, some(continues on next page)Transcribed by a member of our volunteer transcription project.
- Neta Flood